In the Spring Edition of the Charity & Social Enterprise Update:

  • Emma Knuckey and Barbara Eze look at the latest Charity Commission guidance on serious incident reporting.
  • Emma Dowden-Teale and Charlotte Blackbourn advise that dealing effectively with complaints is crucial to confidence in a charity's work.
  • Subject access requests have increased since the implementation of the GDPR in 2018. Damian Ward and Alex Jameson look at how to deal with two of the tricky issues that often crop up.
  • Charities and social enterprises planning to run campaigns that directly criticise a business or its practices need to consider the potential risks involved, says Mathew Healey.
  • What are the potential implications of Brexit for charities receiving or applying for UK or EU public funding? Lawrie Simanotwitz and Sung-Hyui Park look into the future.
  • Chetal Patel urges organisations sponsoring migrants to be aware of their responsibilities to avoid falling foul of the Home Office's new focus on charity sponsors' compliance.
  • Sung-Hyui Park and Rebecca Bruce explain how charities can structure their trading activities.
  • Mathew Healey outlines steps to take when a charity re-brand involves a change of name.
  • Leticia Jennings and Sophie Cass explain why proposed increases to probate fees are being called a 'stealth tax' that may have a disastrous impact on charities.
  • It wasn't all the fun of the fair, when the membership body for travelling showmen found that it was caught by competition law, explains Lindsay Draffan.
  • There is a new focus in governance on emotional intelligence, says Tesse Akpeki.
  • Our tax expert Bill Lewis, argues that the VAT zero rate needs updating in light of technological changes.
  • Susan Shi examines tax relief on gifts of shares.
  • Emma Knuckey rounds up the latest from the Charity Commission and the Charity Tribunal.

Please click here to view the PDF version of the update.

 


Alex Jameson photo

Alex Jameson

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7656

E
a.jameson@bwbllp.com
View full information about Alex Jameson
Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Chetal  Patel photo

Chetal Patel

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7751

E
c.patel@bwbllp.com
View full information about Chetal Patel
Damian Ward photo

Damian Ward

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7905

E
d.ward@bwbllp.com
View full information about Damian Ward
Emma Dowden-Teale photo

Emma Dowden-Teale

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7890

E
e.dowden-teale@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Dowden-Teale
Emma Knuckey photo

Emma Knuckey

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7790

E
e.knuckey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Knuckey
Lawrence Simanowitz photo

Lawrence Simanowitz

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
l.simanowitz@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lawrence Simanowitz
Leticia Jennings photo

Leticia Jennings

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7657 / 07791 883095

E
l.jennings@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leticia Jennings
Lindsay Draffan photo

Lindsay Draffan

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7814

E
l.draffan@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lindsay Draffan
Mathew Healey photo

Mathew Healey

Partner & Head of Trade Marks

T
+44(0)20 7551 7637

E
m.healey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Mathew Healey
Sophie Cass photo

Sophie Cass

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7687

E
s.cass@bwbllp.com
View full information about Sophie Cass
Sung-Hyui Park photo

Sung-Hyui Park

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7900

E
sh.park@bwbllp.com
View full information about Sung-Hyui Park
Susan  Shi photo

Susan Shi

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7902

E
s.shi@bwbllp.com
View full information about Susan Shi
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Lead Governance Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki

Posted on 25/02/2019 in BWB Publications

Back to Knowledge